Write for us

Clipclic publishes articles about artist's, music,movies...
Do you have a story or any suggestion. Clipclic is currently taking submissions for artist posts, as well as pitches for story ideas.
If you are interested in writing a post or have an idea for an article, please contact us.

Contact us Login


Latest Tweets info

Related Articles

Senna - Bestowed MPG's Best Of The Year Dean Batchelor Award

Published: by Clipclic Filed under: News Exclusives Sports - 722 Views

Author: Edmund Jenks

John Bisignano, former ESPN motorsport journalist during Senna's timeframe, accepts the Dean Batchelor Award on behalf of Asif Kapadia and Manish Pandey for the documentary, "Senna". Image Credit: Edmund Jenks (2011)

"Senna" Bestowed MPG's Best Of The Year Dean Batchelor Award

"Senna" ... the critically acclaimed documentary about the racing spirit and history of F1 driver Ayrton Senna just won the overall "Best Of The Year" Dean Batchelor Award - Excellence in Automotive Journalism for 2011!

Established by the Motor Press Guild in 1995, the Dean Batchelor Award recognizes excellence in automotive journalism as exemplified by the man it is named after – Dean Batchelor.

The Award singles out individuals demonstrating outstanding achievement in the profession of automotive journalism. Each year MPG presents the Dean Batchelor Award to the journalist judged to have produced the single piece of work which best represents the professional standards and excellence demanded by Dean Batchelor during his life as an editor, writer, and chronicler of the automotive industry.

The product of years of archival research, "Senna" traces the life and career of Brazilian racer and three-time Formula One champion Ayrton Senna, and his death at Tamburello corner while leading the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix in Italy. The film was released overseas in 2010 and made its U.S. debut at the Sundance Film Festival in January 2011, where it won the Audience Award. It has also taken awards at the Los Angeles Film Festival, Melbourne International Film Festival, and the Adelaide Film Festival, and won the Motor Press Guild’s Best Audio/Visual Award for the Sept. 2010 to Sept. 2011 qualifying period before being bestowed the 2011 honoree as best out of four Dean Batchelor category award winners.

Catagory winners as follows (honored December 13, 2011):

Best Audio Visual: Senna, by Asif Kapadia and Manish Pandey

Best Book: "Elva, The Cars, The People, The History" by Janos Wimpffen

Best Article: "Questor Grand Prix" by Tom Stahler

Best Photography: "Everybody's a Photographer" by Reinhard Klein

Basically, the highest award gearheads could bestow on a work of art and/or communication dedicated to motor culture in these four categories.

All hail "Best Of The Year" Dean Batchelor Award - Excellence in Automotive Journalism for 2011 to the documentary movie ... "Senna"!

... notes from The EDJE

Post your comment

Be the first to comment

Fight Spam! Click Here!